2018 Crush symposium award winners

The ASVO was pleased to sponsor two awards at the Wine Innovation Cluster ‘Crush’ symposium at Waite Research Institute this week.

ASVO Director Dr Fiona Kerslake both presented the awards and also received the award (Judged by the Crush team) for the presentation with Best Industry Impact.

The Crush symposium is an opportunity for researchers, technical staff, academics and students to share the latest knowledge in grape and wine science in Australia. Hosted at the Waite Campus, Adelaide, a hub for grape and wine research, the event offers a unique opportunity for developing potential industry and research collaborations, and also networking.

The winners were:

Best Innovation and Science – Bacterial antagonists to control trunk diseases Jennifer Niem, Charles Sturt University – CSU

Best Industry Impact – Crop load for sparkling wines; the high vs. low debate. Fiona Kerslake, Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture

Best presentation (People’s Choice) – Chiral polyfunctional thiols in Sauvignon blanc wines: Precursor stereochemistry, clone, and winemaking impact. Liang Chen, The University of Adelaide

Winners received a 12-month ASVO membership

 Jennifer Niem, Charles Sturt University – CSU Fiona Kerslake, Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture L-R Jennifer Niem, Liang Chen, Fiona Kerslake