2018 awards winners announced

ASVO President Dr Anthony Robinson last night announced the Awards for Excellence winners for 2018 at a sold-out dinner at the National Wine Centre.

Di Davidson AM, master of ceremonies for the evening, kept things flowing calling on Brian Walsh, Wine Australia chair, to open the night and last year’s winners Liz Riley (2017 Viticulturist of the year) and Mike Hayes (2017 Winemaker of the year) to share what winning had meant to them in the past.

Dr Peter Dry introduced a new award commemorating the professional achievements and passion for excellence of the late Dr Peter May AM (1922-2007) founding Editor of the Australian Journal of grape and Wine Research.
ASVO Award recipients are nominated by ASVO-appointed selection committees, comprised of individuals who themselves are distinguished in the fields of viticulture and oenology and who demonstrate exceptional leadership ability and vision.

The full list of award categories and winners are as follows:

  • ASVO Viticulturist of the year – Colin Bell, AHA Viticulture
  • ASVO Winemaker of the Year – Pete Bissell, Balnaves
  • ASVO Viticulture Paper of the Year – Catherine Clarke, Agriculture Victoria
  • ASVO Oenology Paper of the Year – Paul Boss, CSIRO Agriculture and Food
  • ASVO Dr Peter May Award – Rob Bramley, CSIRO Agriculture and Food

The ASVO Awards for Excellence was supported by – Wine Australia, Wiley Blackwell: Bayer, Bio Ag, Braud Australia,CHR Hansen, CSIRO, Elders, Grapeworks, Lallemand, Netafim Australia, Pellenc Australia Seguin Moreau, Thomas Elder Consulting, Vason & VinWizard.
Awards night wines were kindly supplied by Bellwether Wines, Bird in Hand, Brown Brothers, Greenhill wines, Hungerford Hill, Oliver’s Taranga and Torbreck.

Comments are closed.