2017 Award winners

Liz Riley ASVO Viticulturist of the year 2017

2017 Award winners

The ASVO Viticulturist of the year, was awarded Liz Riley, owner and operator of Vitibit, a viticultural consultancy based in the Hunter Valley, New South Wales. Liz was recognised for her expertise in the sustainable management of vineyard pests and diseases including her contribution to numerous research, development and extension projects focussed on fungicide resistance, practical implementation and recommendations for effective pest and disease control.

The ASVO Winemaker of the Year was awarded to Mike Hayes, Viticulturist and Winemaker of Symphony Hill Wines in the Granite Belt, Queensland. Mike has worked persistently for the past decade to understand and promote alternative varieties and associated innovative winemaking practices and he has actively sought to extend his knowledge nationally.

Two awards were presented for research papers published in the ASVO’s Australian Journal of Grape and Wine Research. The winning viticulture paper was authored by Mark Sosnowski of the South Australian Research and Development Institute (SARDI) and colleagues M. R. Ayres, T. J. Wicks and E. S. Scott. The paper ‘Developing pruning wound protection strategies for managing Eutypa dieback’ appealed to the judging panel because of the demand for technical information to support remedial action against trunk disease nationally.

The best oenology paper was awarded to Simone Vincenzi of the University of Padova, Italy and his colleagues D. Gazzola, M. Marangon, G. Pasini and A. Curioni. The paper, ‘Grape seed extract: the first protein-based fining agent endogenous to grapes’ was selected by the judging panel because of the novel, practical and timely approach taken to find an alternative wine fining agent.

ASVO Award recipients are nominated by ASVO-appointed selection committees comprised of individuals who themselves are distinguished in the fields of viticulture and oenology who demonstrate exceptional leadership ability and vision.

Comments are closed.