2019 Winemaker of the Year Advisory Committee

Wendy Cameron MW
Committee Chair

Wendy is an experienced winemaker and wine business manager. Having worked for Brown Brothers for 17 years, initially as a winemaker and for 10 years as Head of Winemaking.
Wendy was awarded the inaugural ASVO Winemaker of the Year Award in 2012

 Anna Hooper

Anna Hooper works with the wine sector’s peak national body, Australian Grape & Wine. Prior to joining Australian Grape & Wine, Anna spent the first twenty years of her career in winemaking and viticulture roles, as General Manager of Cape Jaffa Wines in Mount Benson and as CEO of Australian Vignerons. She has been a non-executive director on a number of private and Government boards and worked in many wine regions globally, including winemaking in France, Georgia and South Africa and wine sales in London.   Anna is also an experienced wine show judge having judged at the Royal Adelaide Wine Show, Royal Perth Wine Show, The Australian Alternative Varieties Wine Show, Limestone Coast Wine Show and The Great Australian Red Challenge.

Matt Holdstock

Matt is a Senior Oenologist in the Industry Development and Support Group at the Australian Wine Research Institute. Matt has worked vintages in Sonoma Valley in 2003 and Bordeaux in 2006. Matt has judged at several Australian wine shows, and participates in tastings for the AWRI’s sensory panel, the Advanced Wine Assessment Course, Winestate Magazine and Wine Australia’s Export Approval panel (2009-2012). Matt has also lectured at the University of Adelaide, Wine Australia, WSET, the Institute of Masters of Wine and the Interwinery Analysis Group. In his current role Matt provides technical advice to winemakers on a daily basis to help solve production issues and provide support for best practice wine production. Matt is also involved with research projects on Brettanomyces, wine packaging, wine flavours, taints and faults.


Mike Hayes (WA / TAS / QLD)

Michael has 39-year experience in the industry, which includes consulting, education and vineyard design. Michael is one of the Granite Belt’s premier wine makers and has received many awards including 2017 ASVO Australian Winemaker of the Year and the USQ Professional Alumnus of the Year 2017.


Frank van de Loo (NSW / ACT)

Frank is Winemaker and General Manager/part owner for Mount Majura Vineyard in the Canberra District where he has been for over 20 years. He has a background in plant science, and has been involved in wine show judging and leadership of the Canberra District Vignerons Association.


Gary Baldwin (VIC)

Gary is an experienced winemaker who has provided technical advice and assistance to wine industry clients on all aspects of wine production since 1988. He has qualifications in biochemistry and wine science and many years experience in senior winemaking and management, wine show judging, wine research and extension.Since 1994 he has been Owner, Director & Principal Consultant of Wine Network Consulting and continues in that role at present.

Prior industry roles include, Group Leader Extension Services at The Australian Wine Research Institute, Chief Winemaker & General Manager Arrowfield Wines Pty Ltd, Hunter Valley NSW and immediately post university as Cidermaker at The Cider Barrell in Pakenham Victoria.He recently retired from a five-year role as Chief Winemaker for the Handpicked Wine Company during that time he oversaw the establishment of a new winemaking facility in Mornington and the purchase of vineyards in the Yarra Valley, Barossa and Mornington and in the process converting Handpicked from a virtual brand to a fully-fledged bricks and mortar wine production company.


Sarah Pidgeon (SA)

Sarah Pidgeon is an experienced national and international wine show judge. She acknowledges the value of education and collaboration in the evolution of the Australian Wine Show system.

2018 Advisory committee