ASVO Past Presidents

ASVO past presidents (left to right): Chris Dundon, Garry Wall, Richard Hamilton, Gary Baldwin, Tony Jordan, Peter Hayes, Bill Hardy, Mark Babidge, Terry Lee

The ASVO came into being because an interested group of oenologists and viticulturists had a vision of creating a professional society to further technical research within the grape and wine industry. Without the drive and dedication of the early committee members, it is unlikely that the Society would have been borne. For over half of its life the ASVO was unstaffed, and administered solely by voluntary committee members, yet it managed to grow considerably. With the employment of a part time Administration Manager in 1996 the membership of the Society doubled over the course of a decade. Throughout these years dedicated committee members have worked to keep their members abreast of the latest wine and vine science.

We thank the following individuals who have served as ASVO president:


1980-1985 Mark Babidge
1985-1986 Brian Croser
1986-1988 Terry Lee
1988-1990 Bill Hardy
1990-1991 Tony Jordan
1991-1992 Brian Freeman
1993-1995 Gary Baldwin
1995-1998 Peter Hayes
1998-2001 Richard Hamilton
2001-2004 Garry Wall
2004-2006 Chris Dundon
2006-2008 Steve Partridge
2008-2009 Russell Johnstone
2009-2011 Mark Krstic
2011-2014 Paul Petrie
2014-2017 Mardi Longbottom
2017- Tony Robinson